Walking wish-list – Part 1

This is probably going to be a short-ish post, and different to my normal ones, as it will cover places I haven’t been yet.

As a walker in the United Kingdom, I have been blessed with some spectacular scenery, most of which is pretty close to hand. Even a long drive, by UK standards, is only about ten hours or so. I’ve decided to turn my attention to some places on my wish-list. If money were no object (if only!), where would I love to walk? Well…
Canadian Rockies – Banff and Jasper National Parks

Do you really need to see why? OK. Have a look at this:

Moraine Lake

(Photo from CCEL.ca)

The Rocky mountains – how can two words conjur up such amazing pictures? OK, as a geologist / geochemist, I have something of a crush on rocks to start with, but surely even non-geologists can appreciate this? When I think of the Rockies, I think of wilderness hiking and camping, and the chance to get away from the city. OK, as with many other national parks (Yellowstone, Wyoming and the Lake District, England spring immediately to mind), you can end up viewing beautiful scenery in the company of many, many people, but hey, that goes with the territory. Some of my favourite moments have been in the remote hills of Knoydart (Scotland), reaching the head of a mountain pass before my friends caught up, and enjoying the sound of the wind rushing over the barren broken rocks. Other times, it has been knowing that the nearest main road is 30 miles walk away, 26 of it on a dirt track, or looking at the eroded roots of mountains in the northwest Highlands of Scotland, and knowing that you are looking at pretty much the dawn of time.
Jasper National Park also seems to offer what I am after – the chance of getting away from everything. Have a look at this beautiful image:

Jasper National Park

That looks incredible. I am planning to start canoeing again, and this would be one of the places I’d love to do it. Ray Mears eat your heart out. This looks stunning.

Forgetting the Rockies (if you can), Canada has a wealth of walking opportunities, and pretty decent people, from what I’ve heard. I look forward to someday exploring this beautiful place.

Nova Scotia

Cows – in a field (From Truths and Half Truths blog

http://truthsandhalftruths.typepad.com/truths_and_half_truths/my_island/

Cows, in a field, near New Brunswick. This could be South Lanarkshire, but the cows’ accents give it away. Not mountains, I know, but Nova Scotia is a place I would love to visit. Apparently it does have a lot of good hiking trails, so I’ll have to get my boots on and explore.

The Appalachian scenic trail

Mt Avery (Pic from National Park Service)

2184 miles in length, crossing 14 States – what’s not to love? I first read about parts of this in a book by Bill Bryson (A walk in the woods), and was hooked. Geologists have described the Appalachians as having formed in a similar way to rucks in a carpet or rug. That’s some rug! You’d have to be mad not to love this place, mad.

Just about anywhere in Norway

The Norwegians have great mountains. I mean, just look at this! Again, how can you not be impressed by the majesty of nature?

The Troll Wall

Photo: Romsdalsalpene.com

The Troll Face is apparently popular with people base-jumping. Why someone would want to jump off a vertical mile-high cliff is beyond me, but hey, each to their own! Here’s a link to a video on Youtube of some fearless people doing just that: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjdqGZdzUDU

This list could run on for quite a while. I’ve not even started with the Alps, Austria, Africa or South America. There are so many places that I’d love to see and do some walking in. I think this post will have sequels…

4 Comments on “Walking wish-list – Part 1”

  1. mandala56 says:

    I have been to Banff, Norway, and Switzerland, but all when I was a kid with my parents, so those places are definitely on my wish list, too!

    • foinaven says:

      You’ve been really fortunate! Hopefully I should get to Banff pretty soon, but the rest are likely to stay on my list for a while yet!

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Dave


Leave a Reply

